Ashes cricket series 2019 and its facts

Today we are going to give the complete details about the Ashes cricket and its history in this article. Ashes Cricket is one of the famous series in international cricket. If you are a huge fan of cricket means you will definitely like this article. The Upcoming Ashes cricket series 2019 is going to conducted by the country England. This is the 71st series of the Ashes Cricket. The tournament going to starts in August.

What is Ashes Cricket?

Ashes cricket are the series between Australia and England are gearing to go head to head in one of the biggest competitions in cricket. This series is not only special for England and Australia but also special for every single cricket lovers. These two nations face each other in every two years, the winners will get the Ashes urn which is one of the most famous and smallest trophies in cricket.

This series is played alternately in both countries. This year Ashes cricket series is hosting by England. The 71st series begins at Edgbaston on Thursday. This series is a five-matches each lasting up to five days.

Ashes Series and its definition

The term ‘Ashes’ first came into practice after Australia defeated England – for the first time on English soil – at The Oval on 29th August 1882. Ever since the two sides compete for one of the cricket’s highest trophies.

History of Ashes Cricket Series:

After the big loss in the year 1882, England was Successful in the next eight Test series. In that, they had lost only four from the 22 games. A day after the historic defeat, the ‘Sporting Times’ carried a mock obituary of English cricket had died, and “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia.

Two months later, the captain of England cricket team Hon Ivo Bligh, went to tour Australia, with the captain promising to return with ‘the ashes’. The Australian Player, WL Murdoch, vowed to defend it with everything. It has over the years become one of the most prestigious prizes in the game. Still, It is believed that the real Ashes – an urn thought to still contain the ashes of a pair of stump bails used in – were gifted to Bligh by a group of Melbourne women. The winning teams are awarded a replica of the urn. The original one has been placed in the cricket museum at Lord’s.

Complete details about Ashes series:

Key facts in Ashes Cricket Series

Total matchesWon by
Won by
Total Tests330134 106 90
Total series7033 32 5

Most Runs in Ashes: Sir Don Bradman

Most wickets in Ashes: Shane Warne

Ashes Series 2019:

The 2019 series is going to starts on August 1st current holder of the Ashes trophy Australia. Specsavers is the sponsor of this Ashes Series.

Date: August 1st to September 16th

Captain of Australia: Tim Paine

Captain of England: Joe Root

Complete squad details:

England SquadAustralia Squad
Rory Burns, Jason Roy, Joe Root (capt), Joe Denly, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson. Tim Paine (capt, wk), Cameron Bancroft, Patrick Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner.

Match details:

First Test

1–5 August 2019 
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pak) and Joel Wilson (WI) 

Second Test

14–18 August 2019 
Lord’s, London
Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pak) and Chris Gaffaney (NZ) 

Third Test

22–26 August 2019 
Headingley, Leeds
Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZ) and Joel Wilson (WI) 

Fourth Test

4–8 September 2019 
Old Trafford, Manchester
Umpires: Marais Erasmus (SA) and Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SL) 

Fifth Test

12–16 September 2019 
The Oval, London
Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SL) and Marais Erasmus (SA) 

Wrapping UP:

More details about the 2019 Ashes will be updated in our site. So keep in touch with us. Enjoy the upcoming series with your family and friends.

Thanks for reading… for more info visit

You May Also Like

About the Author: Ganapathy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *